If you have been charged with a DWI in New York you are going to need the assistance of an experienced DWI defense attorney. If this is your first time being charged for driving while intoxicated then you are most likely confused as to what your best first step is, which is why hiring an attorney who has the legal knowledge necessary to assist you is highly recommended. And because every state has their own laws in place in order to deal with those who break the law by drinking and driving, it is necessary to hire a New York defense attorney when charged with a DWI in New York.
New York DWI laws
When someone is pulled over for driving while intoxicated in New York they will need to submit to a blood alcohol concentration and/or field sobriety test. The results will determine exactly how intoxicated they are and will be used in a court of law to help determine what kind of consequences the driver will be facing due to the DWI charge. While being charged with a DWI is the most common result when someone is pulled over for driving while intoxicated, the driver may instead receive a DWAI – driving while ability impaired – and is a lesser charge.
A DWI defense is necessary when going to court and only an experienced DWI defense attorney is able to produce the best defense for their clients because they fully understand how New York DWI laws work. For example, breathalyzer results are not always as reliable as they should be and should therefore always be further investigated in order to make sure that the results are indeed true. Additionally, any field sobriety test that has been given can also be disputed, as these types of sobriety tests are not as reliable as they should be and can be contested in a court of law.
DWI consequences in New York
The first time someone is convicted of a DWI in New York they will lose their driver’s license for 90 days. They will also need to pay fines up to $300 and can spend up to 15 days in jail, which is pretty serious for their first DWI defense. The second time someone is convicted of a DWI in New York they will lose their driving privileges for at least six months, will face fines up to $500 and can spend up to 30 days in jail. The third time tends to involve thousands of dollars in fines and years in prison.
Christopher York Attorney at Law, DWI defense attorney in Brewster, NY
Looking for an experienced DWI defense lawyer in New York to represent you in court is the best move to ensure the best possible outcome. Know that hiring an experienced DWI defense attorney does not mean that you are admitting guilt and is instead the best way for you to be sure that your rights are protected in a court of law.
Call (845) 363-1994 today to reach Christopher York Attorney at Law.
NOTE: This is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.